Did you know that children between the age of 6 to 12 years old still need to buckle up with at least a booster type child safety seat (child restraint system, CRS)?

There are three types of booster seats:

  • Backless Booster
  • Highback Booster
  • Combination Booster

Let’s find out more.

1. Backless Booster

This type of booster is simple with a special cushion that elevates your child’s position so that your child’s head position is the same as that of the car seat head. Since the booster lacks back support, user has to lean towards the vehicle seat.

2. Highback Booster.

This type of booster has cushions as well as back and head support. The height of the head support can be adjusted according to the height of the child, thus enabling proper positioning of the shoulder belt. The back support can be removed and converted into a backless booster for some models.

3. Combination CRS.

Combination CRS

Combination booster is a CRS which can be used with a 5-point harness (for users who weighs less than the harness limit) or as a highback booster when the user weights are above the harness limit. Not all, but most combination CRS models have a highback which cannot be removed.

Now you know the three types of CRS boosters. However, which CRS would be the right one for your child to use in the vehicle? Do follow our blog to find out.

Untuk membaca artikel ini di dalam Bahasa Melayu, sila klik di sini.

One thought on “CRS 101: TYPES OF BOOSTER SEATS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s